Daily Archives: June 30, 2009

Yaller tamaters

Not what I was hoping for, but at least they're productive!OK, so I grew 15 tomato plants from seed – from Burpee’s Rainbow Heirloom Mix – and it appears that at least 10 of the 15  are Golden Sunburst. It looks like one may be a Black Krim or a Brandywine, but I’m pretty disappointed. Not that the Golden Sunburst aren’t OK, but I wanted variety, dammit! I guess next year I’ll forego growing my own from seed and just support the local growers at the farmer’s market. Maybe my volunteer tomatoes will be something other than yellow…

I planted white half-runner beans a couple of days ago and they’re up. The seeds came from a feed and seed in Richmond, IN, and I picked them up when I was visiting Aric at Earlham last October. White half-runner aren’t usually planted in this area, so we’ll see how they do.

Potatoes (Red Pontiac) have been harvested, and we’re going to try and get some okra up in that space now. I also want to plant another hill/teepee of cucumbers where I had a patch of garlic.  Along the alley fence I’ve transplanted some Hopi Red Dye Amaranth. If it survives the shock I think it should do OK, as it is drought and heat tolerant. Besides being versatile and nutritious, it will look awesome along the fence – framing the rest of the garden, and providing some OU crimson color in September!

Leave a comment

Filed under Garden